Religious Education Curriculum for 2010-2011

Chalice Children

“This curriculum is designed to nurture children’s spiritual growth, creativity and connection to their Unitarian Universalist community by involving them in hands-on rituals-simple rhymes, fingerplays, games and other activities. Children are introduced to the UU chalice, discover the concepts of death and birth, explore the great forces of nature, the difference between animate and inanimate things and consider how to make choices and overcome difficulties.”

Picture Book UU

“This curriculum is fun, friendly and concise with teachable moments that introduce our faith to young children. Heart melting picture books that have illustrations of the right size for reading aloud, use language appropriate for primary aged children, and have the right amount of text are the focus of each session. Also included in Picture Book UU are; parent take home sheets, a defined belief, principle and source for each session and multiple options for activities.”

Spirit of Adventure

“A UU identity curriculum where the difference is the learning that takes place from physical movement, challenge, and adventure. Spirit of Adventure is a curriculum that teaches UU identity without the usual arts and crafts projects, but includes activities like dissecting a computer, building cantilevered architecture using graham crackers, interviewing a sports coach, eating smoked oysters, and singing Jingle Bells in “dog” language! There are also circus arts, an Animal Blessing, and a Popcorn Sale. Bring those active busy children in and watch them be amazed!”

Toolbox of Faith

“Toolbox of Faith invites fourth- and fifth- grade participants to reflect on the qualities of our Unitarian Universalist faith, such as integrity, courage, and love, as tools they can use in living their lives and building their own faith. Each of the sessions uses a tool as a metaphor for an important quality of our faith such as reflection (symbolized by a mirror), flexibility (duct tape), and justice (a flashlight).”

Traditions with a Wink

“This curriculum teaches an understanding of UU faith that can replace the vague anything we want to statement with: We come from a long tradition of questioning and searching. We come from a long tradition of loving kindness and good works. We have powerful stories and visions of hope. It is time to share them with our older children as they begin the process of shaping their own faith.”

8TH GRADE/Coming Of Age
Compass Points

Our Coming of Age curriculum is a year long program which helps our youth connect with the larger community of our church beyond the church school and prepare a credo (statement of personal belief) which they will share with the congregation at a special service in June.

This year we will be using the Compass Points curriculum.

“Compass Points will lead its adolescent participants on a year long spiritual journey during which they will have opportunities to sort out their feelings about themselves and their world as they do the difficult work of starting to create their adult selves; To discover what they believe about life’s big questions – the nature of humanity and God, beliefs about death and faith; To think independently, assume responsibility, make decisions, explore values and adopt the practice of radical hospitality; To acquire enough background in Unitarian Universalist history, polity and theology that they can know and express what Unitarian Universalism stands for; To understand that religious liberty is a hard-won legacy that continues to need protection.”

Senior High
Popcorn Theology

“Popcorn Theology takes the concept and popularity of movie night to explore issues of theology and ethics for Unitarian Universalists. Popcorn Theology for Youth uses movies rated G, PG or PG-13 to explore theological and ethical issues with high school age youth. Each session has a selected excerpt which lasts approximately 15 to 20 minutes followed by suggested activities and discussion questions.”


Our Whole Lives is a series of sexuality education curricula for six age groups: grades K-1, grades 4-6, grades 7-9, grades 10-12, young adults (ages 18-35), and adults. Our Whole Lives helps participants make informed and responsible decisions about their sexual health and behavior. It equips participants with accurate, age-appropriate information in six subject areas: human development, relationships, personal skills, sexual behavior, sexual health, and society and culture. Grounded in a holistic view of sexuality, Our Whole Lives provides not only facts about anatomy and human development, but helps participants to clarify their values, build interpersonal skills, and understand the spiritual, emotional, and social aspects of sexuality. This year OWL will be offered for children in grades 4-6.